Skip to main content

Who will win Super Bowl MVP? Cooper Kupp takes home Super Bowl LVI MVP, Aaron Donald dominates

Super Bowl MVP, Super Bowl LVI MVP

Who will win Super Bowl MVP? A clash between the Cincinnati Bengals and Los Angeles Rams delivered a fantastic matchup featuring some of the best NFL players. But there can only be one Most Valuable Player award recipient in Super Bowl LVI and it came down to the Los Angeles Rams two biggest stars.

The history of Super Bowl MVPs tells us a quarterback will likely win. In the last 12 Super Bowls, a passer took home the trophy and a new car nine times. For Matthew Stafford and Joe Burrow, that meant one of them would likely join Tom Brady, Patrick Mahomes, Aaron Rodgers and Drew Brees in exclusive company.

But surprises happen. Julian Edelman earned MVP honors in Super Bowl LIII and a linebacker took home the trophy in Super Bowl XLVIII and Super Bowl 50. So, it’s not unprecedented to see Cooper Kupp and Aaron Donald finish as the two finalists for Super Bowl MVP>

Who won Super Bowl LVI MVP? Cooper Kupp, Los Angeles Rams

NFL: NFC Championship-San Francisco 49ers at Los Angeles Rams
Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

The game-winning drive swung Super Bowl MVP voters. Los Angeles trailed 23-20 with six minutes to go and everyone know exactly who Stafford would target. After containing Cooper Kupp all game, Cincinnati could no longer stop the All-Pro receiver. He hauled in three catches for 38 receiving yards, then drew a defensive holding call and a pass interference. It all set up for the biggest catch of Kupp’s career.

With the game on the line and only 85 seconds remaining, Kupp made the contested catch in mid-air for the game-winning touchdown. After a historic season, it’s fitting that he wins Super Bowl MVP after this two-touchdown performance and some clutch play in the final minutes.

2022 Super Bowl MVP candidates

Aaron Donald, defensive tackle, Los Angeles Rams

NFL: NFC Championship-San Francisco 49ers at Los Angeles Rams
Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

If the vote came down to us, Aaron Donald is Super Bowl MVP. The All-Pro defensive tackle had a quiet first half, but he turned it on in the final two quarters. Everyone saw why many believe he is the best defensive tackle in NFL history. It’s more than the two sacks, he constantly broke the pocket in key situations and he sealed it with the game-deciding takedown of Burrow. While the talk of retirement means the NFL could lose an all-time great, this would be a fitting end to a Hall of Fame career. It’s just a shame he didn’t get the MVP before walking off into the sunset.

Von Miller, edge rusher, Los Angeles Rams

NFL: NFC Divisional Round-Los Angeles Rams at Tampa Bay Buccaneers
Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

Von Miller didn’t take home the MVP award, but he already has one. The Rams’ top edge rusher came through once again on the biggest stage, but that doesn’t come as a surprise considering what he did for the Denver Broncos. Los Angeles traded its second- and third-round picks for Miller, banking on him thriving alongside Donald. It’s kismet that he finished with 2 sacks and 3 quarterback hits, at least earning some MVP consideration behind Kupp and Donald.

Odell Beckham Jr, wide receiver, Los Angeles Rams

NFL: Los Angeles Rams at Arizona Cardinals
Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

If not for the non-contact injury, Odell Beckham Jr. might be your Super Bowl MVP. He made a phenomenal touchdown grab for the first score on Sunday and blew past the 50-yard mark on just two catches. Unfortunately, his night ended in a heartbreaking fashion when he grabbed his knee and needed assistance getting off the field. A Super Bowl ring will make things better, but this is a difficult end for the impending free-agent. If there’s one positive for the Rams, it might increase the odds of him returning to Los Angeles in 2022.

Who won Super Bowl MVP last year?

NFL: Super Bowl LV-Kansas City Chiefs vs Tampa Bay Buccaneers
Matthew Emmons-USA TODAY Sports

Tampa Bay Buccaneers quarterback Tom Brady won Super Bowl MVP in 2021. It’s understandable why he took home the honor for an NFL-record fifth time. Brady threw three touchdown passes and posted a 125.8 QB rating, strong numbers. But Tampa Bay’s defense made the bigger impact in Super Bowl LV with linebackers Devin White (12 tackles, 2 tackles for loss) and Lavonte David (6 solo tackles, 2 pass deflections) both deserving of the honor.

Mentioned in this article:

More About: