NCAA announces relocation sites for championships

By Jesse Reed

The NCAA recently announced it was pulling championship events out of North Carolina in the wake of the state’s HB2, or anti-LGBT bill. On Friday morning, the NCAA unveiled the new locations for those championships, via the official website.

The locations for the seven relocated championships are as follows.

  • 2016 Division I Women’s Soccer Championship, College Cup, Dec. 2 and 4: San Jose, California (Avaya Stadium; West Coast Conference, host).
  • 2016 Division III Men’s and Women’s Soccer Championships, Dec. 2 and 3: Salem, Virginia (Kerr Stadium; Old Dominion Athletic Conference, host).
  • 2017 Division I Men’s Basketball Championship, first/second-rounds, March 17 and 19: Greenville, South Carolina (Bon Secours Wellness Arena; Southern Conference and Furman University, hosts).
  • 2017 Division I Women’s Golf Championships, regional, May 8-10: Athens, Georgia (University of Georgia Golf Course; University of Georgia, host).
  • 2017 Division III Men’s and Women’s Tennis Championships, May 22-27: Chattanooga, Tennessee (Champions Tennis Club; University of the South, host).
  • 2017 Division I Women’s Lacrosse Championship, May 26 and 28: Boston (Gillette Stadium; University of Massachusetts, Amherst, host).
  • 2017 Division II Baseball Championship, May 27-June 3, Grand Prairie, Texas (The Ballpark in Grand Prairie; Angelo State University, host).

House Bill 2 was passed in March. It bans the transgender population from using restrooms in public buildings and schools that do not match the sex on their birth certificate and not their gender identity.

The NCAA is not the only entity that has take steps to protest HB2. The NBA also pulled its 2017 All-Star Game from Charlotte.

The highly controversial bill has been decried by many major sports figures and figures to remain a sensitive topic that could continue to have ramifications going forward.