Skip to main content

Robert Kraft, Roger Craig among Hall of Fame semifinalists

Apr 28, 2022; Las Vegas, NV, USA; Pro Football Hall of Fame busts on display at the NFL Draft Experience. Mandatory Credit: Gary A. Vasquez-USA TODAY Sports
Credit: Gary A. Vasquez-USA TODAY Sports

New England Patriots owner Robert Kraft and three-time Super Bowl-winning running back Roger Craig are among the 54 seniors, coaches and contributors who have moved forward in the process toward selection as part of the Class of 2023.

The Seniors Committee unveiled the list of 25 semifinalists who will move to the next round of consideration. To be eligible, the player must not have appeared in a game beyond the 1996 season.

Among those joining Craig, who played eight of his 11 seasons with the San Francisco 49ers, on the list are former Cincinnati Bengals quarterback Ken Anderson and Jim Marshall, a member of the Minnesota Vikings’ famed Purple People Eaters.

The Hall of Fame’s Coach/Contributor Committee revealed the list of 29 semifinalists to be considered for election, and it’s a who’s who of owners and coaches. In addition to Kraft, the owners list includes Bud Adams, Art Rooney Jr. and Art Modell.

Coaches in the group include Don Coryell, Mike Holmgren, Dan Reeves, Marty Schottenheimer and Mike Shanahan.

The two committees now will further pare down the nominees, and by Aug. 16, the Seniors group will have three players for final consideration. The Coach/Contributor members will whittle its list to just one to be voted upon for selection.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame class traditionally is announced during Super Bowl week.

In all, the Seniors group is made up of: Anderson, Maxie Baughan, Mark Clayton, Craig, LaVern Dilweg, Randy Gradishar, Lester Hayes, Chris Hinton, Chuck Howley, Cecil Isbell, Joe Jacoby, Billy “White Shoes” Johnson, Mike Kenn, Joe Klecko, Bob Kuechenberg, George Kunz, Marshall, Clay Matthews Jr., Eddie Meador, Stanley Morgan, Tommy Nobis, Ken Riley, Sterling Sharpe, Otis Taylor and Everson Walls.

On the Coach/Contributor list are: Adams, Roone Arledge, C.O. Brocato, Coryell, Otho Davis, Ralph Hay, Holmgren, Frank “Bucko” Kilroy, Eddie Kotal, Kraft, Rich McKay, John McVay, Art Modell, Clint Murchison Jr., Buddy Parker, Carl Peterson, Reeves, Lee Remmel, Rooney, Schottenheimer, Jerry Seeman, Shanahan, Clark Shaughnessy, Seymour Siwoff, Amy Trask, Jim Tunney, Jack Vainisi, Lloyd Wells and John Wooten.

–Field Level Media