Repeat Super Bowl winners: Kansas City Chiefs become back-to-back Super Bowl champions

Credit: Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

The Kansas City Chiefs became the ninth team in NFL history to become repeat Super Bowl winners, defeating the San Francisco 49ers in Super Bowl LVIII. Here’s everything you need to know about the history of back-to-back Super Bowl champions.

Repeating as champions in any sport is difficult, but it’s especially challenging in the NFL. Entering this season, no team has won back-to-back Super Bowls in nearly two decades. It is the longest stretch in NFL history without a team winning consecutive titles.

Related: Best NFL dynasties ever

Let’s take you through a history of repeat Super Bowl winners.

History of back-to-back Super Bowl champions

Syndication: Wicked Local
Credit: Wicked Local Staff Photo/David Sokol / USA TODAY NETWORK

Here’s a brief history of every NFL team that has won back-to-back Super Bowls. You can also find additional information about how they fared in the effort to three-peat further below.

Green Bay Packers – 1966-’67

Led by Vince Lombardi and Bart Starr, the Green Bay Packers kicked off the Super Bowl era by winning consecutive championships. Lombardi’s Packers first defeated the Kansas City Chiefs (35-10) then followed through on their repeat in Super Bowl II with a 33-14 victory over the Oakland Raiders.

Related: Green Bay Packers mock draft 2024

Miami Dolphins – 1972-’73

The Miami Dolphins aren’t just the only undefeated team in NFL history to win the Super Bowl (1972), they hoisted the Lombardi Trophy in consecutive years. Under Don Shula, Miami posted a combined 26-2 record from 1972-’73, winning Super Bowls over Washington (14-7) and the Minnesota Vikings (24-7).

Related: Highest-paid NFL players

Pittsburgh Steelers – 1974-’75

The Pittsburgh Steelers, one of the most storied franchises in NFL history, dominated football in the 1970s. Spearheaded by Chuck Noll and one of the best defenses in the league’s history, Pittsburgh defeated the Vikings in Super Bowl IX (16-6) and then followed that up with a victory over the Dallas Cowboys (21-17) in Super Bowl X.

Related: Best NFL coaches of all time

Pittsburgh Steelers – 1978-’79

The Steelers are the only team in NFL history to win back-to-back Super Bowls twice. After falling short of the three-peat in 1976, the Steelers responded with consecutive titles to close out the 1970s. Pittsburgh took out Dallas in a high-scoring Super Bowl XIII (35-31) and then finished off the repeat with a 31-19 victory over the Los Angeles Rams in Super Bowl XIV.

Related: NFL defense rankings

San Francisco 49ers – 1988-’89

The Steelers were the best NFL team in the 70s and the San Francisco 49ers owned the 1980s. After winning Super Bowl XVI and then Super Bowl XIX three years later, San Francisco reached the mountaintop in consecutive years to wind down the 80s. Bill Walsh and Joe Montana took the Lombardi Trophy home in Super Bowl XXIII, and then Montana and coach George Seifert followed that up with a dominant 55-10 victory over the Denver Broncos in Super Bowl XXXIV.

Related: Best NFL Draft classes ever

Dallas Cowboys – 1992-’93

The Dallas Cowboys dynasty years in the early 1990s make them one of the best teams in NFL history. First led by Jimmy Johnson, Troy Aikman and Emmitt Smith, Dallas won back-to-back Super Bowls with victories over the Buffalo Bills (52-17 and 30-13) in consecutive years. If not for a NFC Championship Game loss to San Francisco in 1995, the Cowboys would’ve had a four-peat thanks to their 27-17 win over Pittsburgh in Super Bowl XXX. Fans still wonder if history would’ve been made had Jerry Jones kept Jimmy Johnson around.

Related: Best tight ends of all time

Denver Broncos – 1997-’98

Hall of Fame quarterback John Elway closed out his NFL career by helping the Denver Broncos become repeat Super Bowl winners. Elway, Terrell Davis and Mike Shanahan took out the Green Bay Packers (31-24) in Super Bowl XXXII then saw Elway walk off into the sunset after beating the Atlanta Falcons 34-13 in Super Bowl XXXIII. Understandably, Denver didn’t make it back to the playoffs the year after Elway retired.

Related: NFL mock draft

New England Patriots – 2003-’04

The New England Patriots are the most recent repeat Super Bowl winners in NFL history. Tom Brady and Bill Belichick, the greatest quarterback-coach duo ever, cemented their status as a dynasty by following up their first Super Bowl win (Super Bowl XXXVI) with consecutive victories over the Carolina Panthers in Super Bowl XXXVIII (32-29) and the Philadelphia Eagles in Super Bowl XXXIX (24-21).

Kansas City Chiefs – 2023-’24

The Kansas City Chiefs and Patrick Mahomes became the first NFL team to repeat as Super Bowl champions in 20 years. Mahomes capped it off with a game-winning touchdown drive in overtime, taking down the 49ers to secure his third Super Bowl ring.

When was the last repeat Super Bowl champions?

The Kansas City Chiefs are repeat Super Bowl champions, defeating the Philadelphia Eagles in Super Bowl LVII and the San Francisco 49ers in Super Bowl LVIII.

Related: History of Super Bowl MVPs

Repeat Super Bowl winners in NFL history

  • Green Bay Packers – Super Bowl I and Super Bowl II
  • Miami Dolphins: Super Bowl VII and Super Bowl VIII
  • Pittsburgh Steelers: Super Bowl IX and Super Bowl X
  • Pittsburgh Steelers: Super Bowl XIII and Super Bowl XIV
  • San Francisco 49ers: Super Bowl XXIII and Super Bowl XXIV
  • Dallas Cowboys: Super Bowl XXVII and Super Bowl XXVIII
  • Denver Broncos: Super Bowl XXXII and Super Bowl XXXIII
  • New England Patriots: Super Bowl XXXVIII and Super Bowl XXXIX
  • Kansas City Chiefs: Super Bowl LVII and Super Bowl LVIII

Has anyone ever won 3 Super Bowls in a row?

No NFL team has ever won three consecutive Super Bowls in the history of the National Football League. Four teams have gone to the Super Bowl in three consecutive years (Kansas City Chiefs, New England Patriots, Buffalo Bills and Miami Dolphins) but none of them won it in all three years.

Related: Most Super Bowl wins, Lombardi Trophy history

History of repeat Super Bowl winners

Here’s a brief rundown of the NFL teams who won back-to-back Super Bowls and how they fared in their third season after repeating as NFL champions. Data courtesy of Pro Football Reference.

Repeat Super Bowl winnersThird Season
1966-’67 Green Bay Packers6-7-1 – Missed NFL playoffs
1972-’73 Miami Dolphins11-3 – Lost in Divisional Round
1974-’75 Pittsburgh Steelers10-4 – Lost AFC Championship Game
1978-’79 Pittsburgh Steelers9-7 – Missed NFL playoffs
1988-’89 San Francisco 49ers14-2 – Lost NFC Championship Game
1992-’93 Dallas Cowboys12-4 – Lost NFC Championship Game
1997-’98 Denver Broncos6-10 – Missed NFL playoffs
2003-’04 New England Patriots10-6 – Lost in Divisional Round

Related: 2024 NFL offseason schedule

Mentioned in this article:

More About: