Skip to main content

Reggie Bush among 18 players named to College Football HOF

Reggie Bush speaks during the Fox Sports Big Noon Kickoff football pregame show before Iowa hosts Michigan, Saturday, Oct. 1, 2022, in Iowa City, Iowa.

221001 Big Noon 022 Jpg
Credit: Joseph Cress/Iowa City Press-Citizen / USA TODAY NETWORK

Reggie Bush and Tim Tebow were among a class of 18 players selected for the College Football Hall of Fame.

The class was announced Monday ahead of the College Football Playoff national title game.

Bush is best known for winning the Heisman Trophy in 2005 and having it vacated later in life because his family received illicit benefits during his time as an electrifying running back for Southern California.

He led USC to two national titles in 2003 and 2004 and a third straight championship game appearance in 2005. He ran for 3,169 yards (7.3 per carry) and scored 42 total touchdowns in his collegiate career.

Tebow won the Heisman in 2007 during a record-setting career at Florida.

The rest of the class featured Eric Berry (Tennessee), Michael Bishop (Kansas State), Dwight Freeney (Syracuse), Robert Gallery (Iowa), LaMichael James (Oregon), Derrick Johnson (Texas), Bill Kollar (Montana State), Luke Kuechly (Boston College), Jeremy Maclin (Missouri), Terance Mathis (New Mexico), Bryant McKinnie (Miami), Corey Moore (Virginia Tech), Michael Stonebreaker (Notre Dame), Troy Vincent (Wisconsin), Brian Westbrook (Villanova) and DeAngelo Williams (Memphis).

Former Georgia and Miami coach Mark Richt will be inducted, along with Monte Cater (Shepherd), Paul Johnson (Georgia Southern, Navy, Georgia Tech) and Roy Kramer (Central Michigan).

The induction ceremony will be held Dec. 5.

–Field Level Media