Ohio State Football: J.T. Barrett named as captain, Cardale Jones is not

Courtesy of USA Today Images

The Ohio State Football program announced its six captains for the 2015 NCAA football season, and Cardale Jones wasn’t included. Meanwhile, J.T. Barrett was named as one of the captains, which could be a signal that the Buckeyes plan to start the sophomore quarterback this season.

Urban Meyer announced the six captains on his Twitter account.

In addition to Barrett, Jacoby Boren, Taylor Decker, Joshua Perry, Braxton Miller and Tyvis Powell were honored with the distinction this season.

Apparently, there were quite a few players receiving votes, so while it would appear Barrett has the support of his teammates, there may still be plenty of support for Jones as well.

“This was the most players I’ve seen receive votes for captains,” head coach Urban Meyer said in a press release. “We had 14 players receive votes, but these six separated themselves. This is one of the great accomplishments these young men will experience, to be elected by their peers. And it is very well deserved.”

It’s worth noting that Connor Cook is not one of the captains for Michigan State, and he is undoubtedly the starting quarterback for the Spartans. Whether or not this is a red flag for him in the next NFL draft remains to be seen, but that’s another story.

Meyer has stated he won’t name a starting quarterback until the Buckeyes play Virginia Tech in the season opener, so until that time we’re all left wondering whether Barrett or Jones will lead the offense for the 2015 season.

And that’s just the way Meyer likes it.