Joey Bosa among four Ohio State players suspended for season opener

By Vincent Frank

On the very same day that Ohio State found itself ranked No. 1 in the preseason coaches poll, the football program released a statement indicating that it will be without four players for the team’s season opener against Virginia Tech in early September.

Per the program’s official press release:

“Four individuals from the Ohio State University football team will miss the Buckeyes’ first game of the season Sept. 7 at Virginia Tech, for violating Department of Athletics policy. The individuals involved are defensive end Joey Bosa, sophomore H-back Jalin Marshall, senior receiver Corey Smith and junior H-back Dontre Wilson.”

There is no indication what the violations were for, but this is a huge blow to the top-ranked Buckeyes as they look to repeat as national champions.

Bosa is the most important name on the list. He’s a member of All-American teams throughout the football world, and is considered one of the top defensive players in the nation. The 6-foot-5 defensive end recorded 13.5 sacks and 21 tackles for loss as a sophomore last season.¬†As it relates to Marshall and Wilson, they combined for over 1,000 total yards and 10 touchdowns last season.

Photo: USA Today Sports