Skip to main content

Cy Young Award race 2023: Evaluating top Cy Young candidates, past winners, latest odds

Who will win the Cy Young Award in 2023? As the 2023 MLB season approaches its final stages, the best pitchers in baseball are competing down the stretch for a spot in the playoffs and Cy Young honors.

It’s been a competitive race all season in both the National League and American League. New York Yankees ace Gerrit Cole, one of the highest paid MLB players, has led in the AL for months. However, the race is tightening and it’s even more competitive in the NL.

Related: MLB games today

Let’s dive into this year’s Cy Young Award race. Below, you can find the latest odds and the history of winners.

NL Cy Young Award race: Three-man race down the stretch

MLB: Pittsburgh Pirates at Chicago Cubs
Matt Marton-USA TODAY Sports
Blake Snell2.331741.20.18031.7% – 13.5%3.8
Justin Steele3.001681.17.24724.5% – 5%4.8
Spencer Strider3.731761.06.20537.9% – 7.6%5.3
Zack Wheeler3.631811.07.22427.2% – 5%5.4
MLB statistics via FanGraphs. Stats as of August 31
  1. Blake Snell, San Diego Padres – Blake Snell still has a problem with his command, but he’s been outstanding this year on the mound. In a contract year, Snell recorded the lowest ERA in MLB (2.33) and posted the third-most strikeouts. When you can hold opponents to a .180 batting average across nearly 175 innings, it’s a lot easier to overlook the 13 percent walk rate.
  2. Justin Steele, Chicago Cubs – Justin Steele has been sensational for the Chicago Cubs in 2023. A stint on the injured list diminished some of his season-long numbers, but his effectiveness on the mound is undeniable. Steele has recorded a first-pitch strike on 65.6 percent of his pitches this year and he does an excellent job keeping the ball in the yard (0.70 HR/9).
  3. Spencer Strider, Atlanta Braves Spencer Strider cost himself some Cy Young votes down the stretch. While Atlanta still will finish with the best record in the National League, Strider allowed 14 earned runs in his last four starts with 18 hits allowed and a 5.56 ERA in 22.2 innings. Fortunately, he’s only 24 years old and this shouldn’t be his last opportunity at the Cy Young Award.
  4. Zack Wheeler, Philadelphia Phillies – With the spotlight on Aaron Nola in a contract year, Zack Wheeler stole the show. The 33-year-old righty posted just the second 200-strikeout campaign of his career, posted the sixth-lowest WHIP (1.07( in the majors tore through right-handed hitters (.195 batting average allowed, .550 OPS) from April through September.

AL Cy Young Award race: Gerrit Cole running away with it

MLB: Toronto Blue Jays at New York Yankees
Brad Penner-USA TODAY Sports
Gerrit Cole2.752001.02.21027.4% – 6.1%4.8
Sonny Gray2.841741.17.22723.9% – 7.6%5.0
Kevin Gausman3.29 1781.20.23531.4% – 7.2%5.1
Luis Castillo3.06188.11.05.20927.3% – 6.6%3.5
MLB statistics via FanGraphs. Stats as of August 31
  1. Gerrit Cole, New York Yankees – Gerrit Cole has been the best pitcher in the American League this season. Despite pitching on a non-contending team late in the year, Cole compiled a 2.75 ERA with the lowest WHIP and batting average allowed among AL starting pitchers and he became the first to reach 200 innings. When the votes are announced, Cole will finally have the Cy Young Award that has been missing from his resume.
  2. Sonny Gray, Minnesota Twins – While Sonny Gray has been excellent all season, he’s delivered some of his best starts down the stretch. Since August 1, Gray sports a 2.06 ERA in 56.2 innings pitched and the Minnesota Twins are 5-4 when he was on the mound. Frankly, Minnesota’s record should’ve been even better considering opponents slashed .213/.361/.309 versus Gray in his last nine starts.
  3. Kevin Gausman, Toronto Blue Jays – Kevin Gausman probably isn’t winning the AL Cy Young Award in 2023, but the Toronto Blue Jays aren’t where they are without him. Over his last 10 starts, Gausman has compiled a 70-24 K-BB ratio with a 3.51 ERA and Toronto is 6-4 over that time.
  4. Luis Castillo, Seattle Mariners – Luis Castillo had an outside shot at winning the Cy Young Award entering September. Unfortunately, inconsistency might derail those aspirations. While he holds a 3.38 ERA in his last four starts and Seattle is 4-0 in that stretch, opponents have a .733 OPS versus Castillo and his 4.35 FIP suggests he hasn’t been quite as dominant as he was earlier in the year.

Cy Young Award odds 2023

Here are the latest Cy Young Award odds right now, via BetMGM.

  • National League
    • Blake Snell – -5000
    • Justin Steele – +2500
    • Spencer Strider – +6600
    • Logan Webb – +10000
  • American League
    • Gerrit Cole – -1800
    • Luis Castillo – +1100
    • Sonny Gray – +5000
    • Kevin Gausman – +6000

Cy Young Award winners by year

MLB: St. Louis Cardinals at Milwaukee Brewers
Jeff Hanisch-USA TODAY Sports

Here are the latest Cy Young Award winners in the last 10 years. Further below, you can find answers to the most frequently asked questions about the award.

Cy Young Award winners in both leagues

  • National League
    • 2022: Sandy Alcantara
    • 2021: Corbin Burnes
    • 2020: Trevor Bauer
    • 2019: Jacob deGrom
    • 2018: Jacob deGrom
    • 2017: Max Scherzer
    • 2016: Max Scherzer
    • 2015: Jake Arrieta
    • 2014: Clayton Kershaw
    • 2013: Clayton Kershaw
  • American League
    • 2022: Justin Verlander
    • 2021: Robbie Ray
    • 2020: Shane Bieber
    • 2019: Justin Verlander
    • 2018: Blake Snell
    • 2017: Corey Kluber
    • 2016: Rick Porcello
    • 2015: Dallas Keuchel
    • 2014: Corey Kluber
    • 2013: David Price

Who has won the most Cy Young Awards?

Roger Clemens has the most Cy Young Awards in MLB history, winning seven during his career. Clemens won six AL Cy Youngs and won it once in the National League.

Related: Best baseball players of all time

Who has won 4 Cy Youngs in a row?

Greg Maddux and Randy Johnson are the only two MLB players who have won four Cy Young Awards in a row. Maddux won the NL Cy Young from 1992-’95, while Johnson took home the Cy Young from 1999-2002.

Related: Best MLB teams ever

Has anyone won 3 Cy Youngs in a row

Greg Maddux and randy Johnson have won the Cy Young three years in a row and they are the only players in MLB history to do so.

Related: Longest winning streak in baseball

Why did Nolan Ryan never win a Cy Young Award?

While Nolan Ryan is viewed as one of the best pitchers in MLB history, having led the majors in strikeouts in 11 different seasons, he never won the Cy Young. He finished second once and placed third once, but voters knocked him for his record and not leading the league in ERA more often.

Related: MLB power rankings

Mentioned in this article:

More About: