WNBA Announces 36-Game Schedule for the 2022 Season

WNBA: Finals-Washington Mystics at Seattle Storm

In addition to the WNBA announcing a new playoff format, they have now announced their full schedule for the 2022 season which will feature an extended 36-game schedule.

From 1999-2002, the WNBA season operated under a 32-game schedule until 2003 when they changed it to 34 games. This remained until 2019 when the COVID-19 pandemic forced them to limit their season to just 22 games and this past season when they had a 32-game schedule.

Prior to the beginning of the season, the WNBA’s focus will be on the draft lottery which is set to be held on December 19 with the actual draft taking place in April.

In addition, the free agency period will begin on January 15 with teams able to officially sign players on February 1.

WNBA announces schedule

WNBA: Chicago Sky-Championship Rally
Oct 19, 2021; Chicago, IL, USA; Chicago Sky guard/forward Kahleah Copper (left) center Stefanie Dolson (center) and forward/center Candace Parker (right) celebrate the Sky s championship at Millennium Park. Mandatory Credit: David Banks-USA TODAY Sports

The season is set to kick off on Friday, May 6 featuring the reigning WNBA champion Chicago Sky beginning their title defense when they face their star Candace Parker’s former team the Los Angeles Sparks.

The WNBA’s opening night will also see the Washington Mystics host the Indiana Fever, the WNBA Finals runner-up Phoenix Mercury against the Las Vegas Aces and the Seattle Storm facing the Minnesota Lynx.

Reigning MVP Jonquel Jones and the Connecticut Sun will make their season debut the next night when they play the New York Liberty on the road while the Dallas Wings round out the season debut games hosting the Atlanta Dream.

For the second straight season, the WNBA present the Commissioner’s Cup which is a 10-game in season tournament with teams playing five home and away games against conference opponents from the beginning of the season to July 7 prior to the All-Star break.

The two teams with the best record in each conference in those respective games will face each other in the Commissioner’s Cup championship game.

The All-Star Game is scheduled to take place on Sunday, July 10 followed by the Commissioner’s Cup championship game on July 26.

The regular season is set to end on Sunday August 14.

Mentioned in this article:

More About: