Skip to main content

NASCAR legend Jimmie Johnson embarking on his own version of The Double

He will serve as an analyst and driver across two races on May 26

NASCAR: Cup Practice & Qualifying
Credit: Michael C. Johnson-USA TODAY Sports

Jimmie Johnson will forge ahead with his own version of ‘The Double’ as he is set to become the first driver to be part of an Indianapolis 500 broadcast team hours before competing in one of NASCAR’s crown jewels in the Coca-Cola 600.

Johnson competed in the Greatest Spectacle in Racing in 2022 was also part of the NBC Sports broadcast booth in 2021 when he competed in IndyCar on the road and street course events but not the ovals. He ran a full season in 2022, including the Indianapolis 500 where he led a lap but crashed out of the finish.

NBC said Indianapolis will be the first of several analyst opportunities for Johnson at the network.

“To have the opportunity to experience ‘The Greatest Spectacle in Racing’ once again is such an honor,” Johnson said. “I was part of the NBC broadcast team in 2021 and it just fueled the fire I needed to make my childhood dream of racing in the Indianapolis 500 one day a reality. Competing in this race as a driver was a chance of a lifetime, so to be able to experience the pageantry again is just so special.”

Johnson will also join the NASCAR NBC broadcast booth for the summer race at Daytona, the fall race at Talladega and in a driving-analyst role at Phoenix in November, where is also currently slated to compete in his No. 84 Legacy Motor Club Toyota Camry XSE.

“Any time you can add one of the greatest drivers of all time and an icon of the sport, you jump at the opportunity,” said Sam Flood, lead producer for NBC Sports’ motorsports coverage. “We are thrilled to be working with Jimmie and adding his unique perspective on every race he covers, as well as having him become the first person ever to do the broadcast-driver ‘double’ – history awaits.”

Johnson is one of three seven-time NASCAR Cup Series champions alongside Richard Petty and Dale Earnhardt. He is also a two-time Daytona 500 winner and the only driver to win five consecutive championships. His 83 wins are third most in the modern era behind David Pearson at 105 and Jeff Gordon at 93.

Matt Weaver is a Motorsports Insider for Sportsnaut. Follow him on Twitter.

Mentioned in this article:

More About: