Skip to main content

XFL reveals eight teams for 2023 reboot

Feb 16, 2020; Carson, California, USA; XFL referee Reggie Smith gestures with the XFL logo as backdrop in the first quarter of the game between the LA Wildcats and the Dallas Renegades at Dignity Health Sports Park.  Mandatory Credit: Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports
Credit: Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

The XFL revealed the eight team names and logos Monday for the league’s upcoming 2023 relaunch.

The COVID-19 pandemic forced the XFL to pull the plug midway through its inaugural 2020 campaign.

The new season is scheduled to kick off on Feb. 18.

The eight teams (and their coaches) are: Arlington Renegades (Bob Stoops), Houston Roughnecks (Wade Phillips), Vegas Vipers (Rod Woodson), Orlando Guardians (Terrell Buckley), St. Louis Battlehawks (Anthony Becht), San Antonio Brahmas (Hines Ward), Seattle Sea Dragons (Jim Haslett) and DC Defenders (Reggie Barlow).

League owners Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson and business partner Dany Garcia announced in July that North Texas will serve as the season-long training hub for all eight franchises, with games played in the respective host cities.

–Field Level Media