NFL Honors: Lamar Jackson wins second MVP

Jan 28, 2024; Baltimore, Maryland, USA; Baltimore Ravens quarterback Lamar Jackson (8) passes the ball against the Kansas City Chiefs in the AFC Championship football game at M&T Bank Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Geoff Burke-USA TODAY Sports
Credit: Tommy Gilligan-USA TODAY Sports

Baltimore Ravens quarterback Lamar Jackson can add “two-time NFL Most Valuable Player” to his long list of accomplishments.

Jackson, 27, took home his second MVP award on Thursday night during the NFL Honors awards ceremony in Las Vegas. He was the overwhelming winner, receiving 49 of 50 first-place votes, with the Buffalo Bills’ Josh Allen getting the only dissenting vote.

“My offense, my offensive line, I can’t thank them enough for what they’ve done,” Jackson said. “I’m not out there blocking, catching the ball, doing everything. It’s my team. It’s a team thing for these awards.”

Jackson led the Ravens to a 13-3 record during his 16 regular-season starts. He passed for 3,678 yards and 24 touchdowns, and he rushed for 821 yards and five scores.

He became the ninth player in the Super Bowl era to capture multiple MVPS, joining Peyton Manning (five), Aaron Rodgers (four), Tom Brady (three), Brett Favre (three), Patrick Mahomes (two), Joe Montana (two), Steve Young (two) and Kurt Warner (two).

Here is a look at the rest of Thursday’s award winners:

–Coach of the year: Kevin Stefanski, Cleveland Browns

Stefanski guided the Browns to an 11-6 record despite injuries to key playmakers such as quarterback Deshaun Watson and running back Nick Chubb. It was the second coach of the year award for Stefanski, who won a tight vote over Houston Texans’ DeMeco Ryans.

–Offensive player of the year: Christian McCaffrey, San Francisco 49ers

McCaffrey led the NFL in rushing yards (1,459) and yards from scrimmage (2,023) and tied for first in touchdowns (21) during his first full season in San Francisco. He was the overwhelming winner, drawing 39 votes for first place compared with seven votes for the runner-up, Miami Dolphins wideout Tyreek Hill.

–Defensive player of the year: Myles Garrett, Cleveland Browns

Garrett, 28, racked up 14 sacks, four forced fumbles and one fumble recovery as the leader of the Browns’ defense. He also tallied 17 tackles for loss. Garrett narrowly edged T.J. Watt of the Pittsburgh Steelers to claim his first defensive player of the year award.

–Offensive rookie of the year: C.J. Stroud, Houston Texans

Stroud earned the honor over Detroit Lions running back Jahmyr Gibbs, Los Angeles Rams wideout Puka Nacua and Atlanta Falcons running back Bijan Robinson. The Texans quarterback passed for 4,108 yards, 23 touchdowns and five interceptions this season.

–Defensive rookie of the year: Will Anderson, Houston Texans

Anderson edged Philadelphia Eagles defensive lineman Jalen Carter to take home the award. The Texans were the second team in as many years to have the league’s offensive and defensive rookies of the year. Last year, the New York Jets had wide receiver Garrett Wilson win on offense and cornerback Sauce Gardner win on defense.

–Comeback player of the year: Joe Flacco, Cleveland Browns

Flacco, who turned 39 in January, was sitting at home when the Browns had an emergency need at quarterback. The savvy veteran returned to the league to guide the Browns to four wins in his five starts. He finished with 1,616 passing yards and 13 touchdowns to lead Cleveland to the playoffs.

–Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year: Cameron Heyward, Pittsburgh Steelers

Heyward was recognized for his charitable efforts and community service across 13 NFL seasons. His foundation, The Heyward House, promotes child literacy and helps children who are living with cancer or living in hunger. The foundation also supports teachers and students.

–Field Level Media

Mentioned in this article:

More About: