Skip to main content

Aaron Rodgers takes over as betting favorite to win NFL MVP

Reigning NFL MVP Aaron Rodgers has his Green Bay Packers at 11-3 on the season and as the only team to clinch a playoff spot.

By virtue of their win over the Baltimore Ravens in Week 15, the Packers have also clinched the NFC North division title for a third consecutive season.

This wasn’t always going to be the case. Ahead of the 2021 season, rumors swirled that Rodgers wanted out of dodge. He might still request a trade this coming off-season. Meanwhile, the earlier part of the campaign was filled with a blowout Week 1 loss to the New Orleans Saints and some COVID-19 related drama pertaining to the future Hall of Fame quarterback.

Now, with three weeks remaining in the regular season, Rodgers is the odds-on favorite to come away with his fourth career MVP award, via PointsBet.

  • Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay Packers: +110
  • Tom Brady, Tampa Bay Buccaneers: +250
  • Jonathan Taylor, Indianapolis Colts: +500
  • Patrick Mahomes, Kansas City Chiefs: +1600

Related: NFL Playoff and Super Bowl predictions

Should Aaron Rodgers win the NFL MVP?

Dec 12, 2021; Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA; Green Bay Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers (12) celebrates as he walks off the field following the game against the Chicago Bears at Lambeau Field. Mandatory Credit: Jeff Hanisch-USA TODAY Sports

Before we even delve into his candidacy, it’s important to note that voters have long valued quarterbacks over other positions. The last non-quarterback to win this award was Adrian Peterson with the Minnesota Vikings back in 2012. Prior to that? Then-San Diego Chargers star running back LaDainian Tomlinson.

Despite his absolutely brilliant performance this season, Taylor faces an uphill climb to be voted the league MVP. In fact, the Colts’ running back being at +500 is a testament to just how great he’s played this season.

Related: Find out where Aaron Rodgers stands among NFL QBs this season

If it is indeed betwen Rodgers, Brady and Mahomes, the final vote tally should not be close

The major difference here is the lack of turnovers on Rodgers’ part. Including lost fumbles, he’s given the ball away four times. That’s compared to 14 for Brady and 17 on Mahomes’ part.

Should Brady continue to perform at a high level over the final three games of the season, he’ll likely walk away with that award. If what we’ve seen recently is any indication, there’s no real reason to believe this won’t be the case.

Mentioned in this article:

More About: