Lamar Jackson joins Hall of Fame company in winning 2nd NFL MVP

Baltimore Ravens' Lamar Jackson
Credit: Geoff Burke-USA TODAY Sports

Baltimore Ravens quarterback Lamar Jackson beat out the likes of finalists Josh Allen, Christian McCaffrey, Brock Purdy and Dak Prescott for the NFL MVP award to conclude the 2023 season.

Most figured that Jackson would come away with the league’s top individual award after an awe-inspiring regular season for the No. 1 seed in the AFC.

What Jackson was able to do for Baltimore in the regular year before coming up small in the NFL Divisional Playoffs was nothing short of extraordinary.

Purdy was seen as the favorite to come away with the award before he threw four interceptions in a Christmas Night loss to Jackson and the Ravens. That opened up the door for Lamar to come away with his second career NFL MVP.

As for the voting, Jackson received all but one first-place vote. Josh Allen received the other. He was a near unanimous winner.

Related: NFL executive provides shocking take on Lamar Jackson contract with the Baltimore Ravens

Lamar Jackson joins elite company with multiple NFL MVP awards

lamar jackson nfl mvp
Credit: Tommy Gilligan-USA TODAY Sports

Jackson previously won the award as a sophomore back in 2019. That season saw him put up north of 4,300 total yards with 43 total TD, 6 INT. He joins 10 others to have won multiple MVP awards.

  • Peyton Manning: 5
  • Aaron Rodgers: 4
  • Jim Brown: 3
  • Tom Brady: 3
  • Brett Favre: 3
  • Johnny Unitas: 3
  • Patrick Mahomes: 2
  • Kurt Warner: 2
  • Steve Young: 2
  • Joe Montana: 2

Only two of those 10 players are not in the Hall of Fame. Obviously, that’s because both Rodgers and Mahomes are still actively playing in the NFL.

What an amazing accomplishment for Jackson.

Mentioned in this article:

More About: