Skip to main content

Report: NFL Playoffs would expand to 14 teams next season under new CBA

NFL Playoffs
Troy Taormina-USA TODAY Sports

The NFL Playoffs as we know it might be about to change. As part of a new collective-bargaining agreement proposal from NFL owners, which could be voted on this week, the NFL Playoffs would expand to seven teams from each conference making it into the postseason, per ESPN’s Adam Schefter.

According to the report, the NFL’s plan would go into effect for the upcoming 2020 season and would see only one team from each conference receive a first-round bye.

The specific idea has already received approval from NFL players as part of the CBA negotiations, per ESPN. As part of the new proposal, players on the teams with a first-round bye would receive postseason pay for the first time in NFL history.

If the new rule had been in place for this past season, the Pittsburgh Steelers and Los Angeles Rams would have represented the No. 7 seed in their respective conferences. It also would have resulted in the Kansas City Chiefs and Green Bay Packers losing the first-round bye.

If a new CBA can be reached, and there is reportedly growing belief it can happen, football fans will get to see even more playoff action starting next season.