Skip to main content

Last time players won NHL awards, Stanley Cup in same season

NHL: Stanley Cup Playoffs-Colorado Avalanche at Tampa Bay Lightning
Credit: Geoff Burke-USA TODAY Sports

Winning the Stanley Cup is hard enough. Doing so in a season where a player also captures a major NHL award is another thing altogether.

Let’s examine the last time a player won each NHL award and the Stanley Cup in the same season.

Related: 2024 Stanley Cup Playoffs: Predictions for each second-round series

James Norris Trophy – Cale Makar (2022)

Jun 30, 2022; Denver, Colorado, USA; Colorado Avalanche defenseman Cale Makar (8) during the Stanley Cup Championship Celebration. Mandatory Credit: Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports
Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports

Frank J. Selke Trophy – Ryan O’Reilly (2019)

Feb 11, 2023; St. Louis, Missouri, USA;  St. Louis Blues center Ryan O'Reilly (90) reacts after scoring the game winning goal against the Arizona Coyotes during overtime at Enterprise Center. Mandatory Credit: Jeff Curry-USA TODAY Sports
Jeff Curry-USA TODAY Sports

Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy – Alex Ovechkin (2018)

Feb 13, 2024; Washington, District of Columbia, USA; Washington Capitals left wing Alex Ovechkin (8) lines up for a face-off against the Colorado Avalanche in the third period at Capital One Arena. Mandatory Credit: Geoff Burke-USA TODAY Sports
Geoff Burke-USA TODAY Sports

Mark Messier Leadership Award – Jonathan Toews (2015)

Nov 23, 2022; Dallas, Texas, USA; Chicago Blackhawks center Jonathan Toews (19) in action during the game between the Dallas Stars and the Chicago Blackhawks at American Airlines Center. Mandatory Credit: Jerome Miron-USA TODAY Sports
Jerome Miron-USA TODAY Sports

William M. Jennings – Jonathan Quick (2014)

Jan 21, 2023; Nashville, Tennessee, USA; Los Angeles Kings goaltender Jonathan Quick (32) watches the puck after a save during the first period against the Nashville Predators at Bridgestone Arena. Mandatory Credit: Christopher Hanewinckel-USA TODAY Sports
Christopher Hanewinckel-USA TODAY Sports

Presidents’ Trophy – Chicago Blackhawks (2013)

Oct 26, 2019; Raleigh, NC, USA;  Chicago Blackhawks center Jonathan Toews (19) and right wing Patrick Kane (88) talk against the Carolina Hurricanes at PNC Arena. The Carolina Hurricanes defeated the Chicago Blackhawks 4-0. Mandatory Credit: James Guillory-USA TODAY Sports
James Guillory-USA TODAY Sports

Vezina Trophy – Tim Thomas (2011)

NHL: Boston Bruins at Toronto Maple Leafs
John E. Sokolowski-USA TODAY Sports

Art Ross Trophy – Evgeni Malkin (2009)

Jan 28, 2022; Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA;  Pittsburgh Penguins  center Evgeni Malkin (72) waits for a face off against the Detroit Red Wings in the second period at PPG Paints Arena. Mandatory Credit: Philip G. Pavely-USA TODAY Sports
Philip G. Pavely-USA TODAY Sports

Lady Byng Trophy – Pavel Datsyuk (2008)

NHL: Detroit Red Wings at Toronto Maple Leafs
Tom Szczerbowski-USA TODAY Sports

Jack Adams Award – John Tortorella (2004)

Geoff Burke-USA TODAY Sports

Ted Lindsey Award and Hart Trophy – Martin St. Louis (2004)

Martin St. Louis
James Guillory-USA TODAY Sports

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy – Ken Daneyko (2000)

NHL: USA TODAY Sports-Archive
Lou Capozzola-USA TODAY Sports

Calder Trophy – Scott Gomez (2000)

NHL: Buffalo Sabres at New Jersey Devils
Ed Mulholland-USA TODAY Sports
Mentioned in this article:

More About: