Skip to main content

All-Pro picks: Patrick Mahomes at QB; WR Justin Jefferson unanimous

Sep 11, 2022; Glendale, Arizona, USA; Detailed view of the jersey of Kansas City Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes (15) and tight end Travis Kelce (87) against the Arizona Cardinals at State Farm Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports
Credit: Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

Kansas City Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes was one vote shy of unanimous, and teammate Travis Kelce and Minnesota Vikings wide receiver Justin Jefferson received all 50 votes for the 2022 NFL All-Pro team released Friday.

A panel of 50 media members votes in balloting controlled by the Associated Press. Mahomes received 49 of 50 votes at quarterback, falling one vote shy of unanimous along with San Francisco 49ers defensive end Nick Bosa and Chiefs defensive tackle Chris Jones.

Philadelphia Eagles quarterback Jalen Hurts received on vote to prevent Mahomes from the sweep.

Mahomes, All-Pro and MVP in 2018, led the NFL with 5,250 yards and guided the Chiefs to the No. 1 seed in the AFC. The same panel and AP accounting is used for MVP voting, a sign that Mahomes is a virtual lock for that award handed out during Super Bowl weekend. In the past 15 years, 14 times the All-Pro quarterback was also named league MVP.

Jefferson had 128 catches and the sixth season with at least 1,800 yards in NFL history, finishing with 1,809 yards for his first selection to the All-Pro team.

Kelce was joined by his brother, Eagles center Jason Kelce, on the 2022 first team. Travis Kelce caught 12 of Mahomes’ 41 TD passes this season and tallied 110 receptions.

Bosa recorded 18.5 sacks and Dallas Cowboys edge rusher Micah Parsons, who had 13.5 sacks, returned to the All-Pro team after making it as a rookie linebacker. The 49ers had three first-team picks on defense: Bosa, safety Talanoa Hufanga and linebacker Fred Warner.

Jets cornerback Sauce Gardner was the first rookie voted All-Pro at the position since 1981. Defensive tackle Quinnen Williams joined him as representatives of New York’s fourth-ranked defense.

Gardner, the NFL leader in pass breakups, reacted to the announcement via Twitter.

“First Rookie CB to get 1st Team All-Pro for the first time in 41 years… Thank you God. None of this would be possible without you and the great group of guys on our defense;especially the D-LINE…This for Detroit … Product of Detroit King Highschool.”

Mahomes’ former top target, wide receiver Tyreek Hill survived the offseason trade and quarterback changes with the Dolphins to make the team for the fourth time in his first season with Miami.

The Chiefs were joined on the All-Pro offense by AFC West division standouts from the Las Vegas Raiders: Josh Jacobs at running back and Davante Adams at wide receiver.

Quarterback: Patrick Mahomes, Kansas City Chiefs
Running Back: Josh Jacobs, Las Vegas Raiders

Tight End: Travis Kelce, Kansas City Chiefs
Wide Receivers: Justin Jefferson, Minnesota; Tyreek Hill, Miami; Davante Adams, Las Vegas Raiders

Left Tackle: Trent Williams, San Francisco 49ers
Right Tackle: Lane Johnson, Philadelphia Eagles

Left Guard: Joel Bitonio, Cleveland Browns
Right Guard: Zack Martin, Dallas Cowboys

Center: Jason Kelce, Philadelphia Eagles

Edge: Nick Bosa, San Francisco 49ers; Micah Parsons, Dallas Cowboys
Interior Linemen: Chris Jones, Kansas City Chiefs; Quinnen Williams, New York Jets

Linebackers: Fred Warner, San Francisco 49ers; Roquan Smith, Baltimore Ravens; Matt Milano, Buffalo Bills

Cornerbacks: Sauce Gardner, New York Jets; Patrick Surtain II, Denver Broncos
Safeties: Minkah Fitzpatrick, Pittsburgh Steelers; Talanoa Hufanga, San Francisco 49ers

Placekicker: Daniel Carlson, Las Vegas Raiders
Punter: Tommy Townsend, Kansas City Chiefs

Kick Returner: Keisean Nixon, Green Bay Packers
Punt Returner: Marcus Jones, New England Patriots

Special Teamer: Jeremy Reaves, Washington Commanders
Long Snapper: Andrew DePaola, Minnesota Vikings

–Field Level Media