Thomas B. Shea-USA TODAY Sports

A mountain of controversy arose on a ball hit by Jose Altuve in the first inning of Game 4 of the ALCS between the Boston Red Sox and Houston Astros.

Jose Altuve hit a deep fly to right field. Without obstruction, the ball clearly would have gone over the wall. But there was obstruction, and a lot of it.



Ultimately, Altuve was called out.

There’s a lot to look at here. First of all, the fan clearly interfered with Mookie Betts’ attempt to make the catch.

But it’s also worth noting that if the Betts and the ball were over the fence, fan interference is moot.



While Joe West was indecisive in initially calling the play, he did rule Altuve out. That ruling was upheld (but not confirmed) on replay.

Twitter went nuts over the ruling.





We’ll certainly be hearing about this controversial play for a while.


Michael Dixon
Bay Area born and raised, I have extensive experience in both the print and online worlds. There are few things in this world I love doing more than talking sports.