Skip to main content

Nolan Arenado leads Gold Glove winners with 10th straight award

Oct 3, 2022; Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA;  St. Louis Cardinals third baseman Nolan Arenado (28) warms up before the game against the Pittsburgh Pirates at PNC Park. Mandatory Credit: Charles LeClaire-USA TODAY Sports
Credit: Charles LeClaire-USA TODAY Sports

St. Louis Cardinals third baseman Nolan Arenado was named a Rawlings Gold Glove Award winner for defensive excellence for the 10th straight season on Tuesday.

Arenado joined Ichiro Suzuki as the only players in MLB history to win a Gold Glove in the first 10 seasons of their major league careers.

Arenado led all MLB third basemen with 42 double plays turned, a Cardinals franchise record. He was second among third basemen with 283 assists.

Rookie Cardinals teammate Brendan Donovan also won a Gold Glove at the utility position. It is the first time Rawlings is awarding an extra Gold Glove to a utility player in the American and National Leagues.

Los Angeles Dodgers right fielder Mookie Betts won his sixth Gold Glove and Atlanta Braves pitcher Max Fried won his third straight.

The American League was notable for having nine first-time winners. Four played for the Cleveland Guardians: pitcher Shane Bieber, second baseman Andres Gimenez, left fielder Steven Kwan and center fielder Myles Straw.

Only New York Yankees infielder DJ LeMahieu was a return winner, claiming his fourth — his first since 2018 — at the utility position.

The full list of winners is below:

American League
P Shane Bieber (Cleveland Guardians)
C Jose Trevino (New York Yankees)
1B Vladimir Guerrero Jr. (Toronto Blue Jays)
2B Andres Gimenez (Cleveland Guardians)
3B Ramon Urias (Baltimore Orioles)
SS Jeremy Pena (Houston Astros)
LF Steven Kwan (Cleveland Guardians)
CF Myles Straw (Cleveland Guardians)
RF Kyle Tucker (Houston Astros)
UTIL DJ LeMahieu (New York Yankees)

National League
P Max Fried (Atlanta Braves)
C J.T. Realmuto (Philadelphia Phillies)
1B Christian Walker (Arizona Diamondbacks)
2B Brendan Rodgers (Colorado Rockies)
3B Nolan Arenado (St. Louis Cardinals)
SS Dansby Swanson (Atlanta Braves)
LF Ian Happ (Chicago Cubs)
CF Trent Grisham (San Diego Padres)
RF Mookie Betts (Los Angeles Dodgers)
UTIL Brendan Donovan (St. Louis Cardinals)

–Field Level Media