Skip to main content

MLB All-Star Game rosters finalized; Yankees lead with 6 picks

Jul 8, 2022; Boston, Massachusetts, USA; New York Yankees starting pitcher Nestor Cortes (65) throws a pitch against the Boston Red Sox during the first inning at Fenway Park. Mandatory Credit: Paul Rutherford-USA TODAY Sports
Credit: Paul Rutherford-USA TODAY Sports

Major League Baseball revealed the complete rosters for the MLB All-Star Game on Sunday, with the New York Yankees sending a majors-best six players to Los Angeles for the game July 19.

After the starting lineups were revealed Friday night, MLB announced the pitchers — including New York’s Gerrit Cole, Nestor Cortes and Clay Holmes — and reserves who would join them at Dodger Stadium.

Starters were decided by fan voting, while pitchers and reserves were determined by a combination of players’ votes and commissioner Rob Manfred’s selections.

Yankees catcher Jose Trevino joined starting outfielders Aaron Judge and Giancarlo Stanton and the trio of pitchers representing New York. Behind the Yankees, the Houston Astros and Atlanta Braves each had five selections.

Cortes (157 votes) and Cole (131) joined Tampa Bay’s Shane McClanahan (212), Houston’s Justin Verlander (203) and Toronto’s Alek Manoah (184) among American League starting pitchers voted in by their peers. Holmes led the AL relief pitchers with 233 votes and was joined by Cleveland’s Emmanuel Clase (162) and Baltimore’s Jorge Lopez (108).

Sandy Alcantara of the Miami Marlins tallied 338 votes, most of any pitcher, and will represent the National League team along with Milwaukee’s Corbin Burnes (206), San Diego’s Joe Musgrove (179), Atlanta’s Max Fried (175) and the Los Angeles Dodgers’ Tony Gonsolin (151).

Josh Hader of the Brewers (255), Edwin Diaz of the New York Mets (126) and Ryan Helsley of the St. Louis Cardinals (99) were the players’ choices for NL relief pitchers.

According to MLB, 30 players were named first-time All-Stars for the fourth straight season. The youngest of the group was 21-year-old Julio Rodriguez, a rookie outfielder for the Seattle Mariners selected by the commissioner’s office.

MLB previously announced that Cardinals slugger Albert Pujols, who will retire after this season, and Detroit Tigers star Miguel Cabrera, who reached 3,000 career hits earlier this year, will head to the All-Star Game as commissioner’s picks.

Los Angeles Angels star Shohei Ohtani, who was also one of MLB’s selections at pitcher, was previously named the AL’s starting designated hitter by the fan ballot. As a result, MLB made an extra selection at pitcher and named Framber Valdez of the Astros to the AL team.

Complete All-Star Game rosters
American League:
Catchers: Alejandro Kirk (Toronto), Jose Trevino (N.Y. Yankees)
Infielders: Jose Altuve (Houston), Tim Anderson (Chicago White Sox), Luis Arraez (Minnesota), Xander Bogaerts (Boston), Miguel Cabrera (Detroit), Rafael Devers (Boston), Andres Gimenez (Cleveland), Vladimir Guerrero Jr. (Toronto), Jose Ramirez (Cleveland)
Outfielders: Andrew Benintendi (Kansas City), Byron Buxton (Minnesota), Aaron Judge (N.Y. Yankees), Julio Rodriguez (Seattle), George Springer (Toronto), Giancarlo Stanton (N.Y. Yankees), Mike Trout (L.A. Angels), Kyle Tucker (Houston)
Designated hitters: Shohei Ohtani (L.A. Angels), Yordan Alvarez (Houston)
Pitchers: Paul Blackburn (Oakland), Emmanuel Clase (Cleveland), Gerrit Cole (N.Y. Yankees), Nestor Cortes (N.Y. Yankees), Clay Holmes (N.Y. Yankees), Jorge Lopez (Baltimore), Alek Manoah (Toronto), Shane McClanahan (Tampa Bay), Martin Perez (Texas), Gregory Soto (Detroit), Framber Valdez (Houston), Justin Verlander (Houston)

National League:
Catchers: Willson Contreras (Chicago Cubs), Travis d’Arnaud (Atlanta)
Infielders: Pete Alonso (N.Y. Mets), Nolan Arenado (St. Louis), Jazz Chisholm Jr. (Miami), C.J. Cron (Colorado), Paul Goldschmidt (St. Louis), Manny Machado (San Diego), Jeff McNeil (N.Y. Mets), Albert Pujols (St. Louis), Dansby Swanson (Atlanta), Trea Turner (L.A. Dodgers)
Outfielders: Ronald Acuna Jr. (Atlanta), Mookie Betts (L.A. Dodgers), Ian Happ (Chicago Cubs), Starling Marte (N.Y. Mets), Joc Pederson (San Francisco), Kyle Schwarber (Philadelphia), Juan Soto (Washington)
Designated hitters: William Contreras (Atlanta), Bryce Harper* (Philadelphia)
Pitchers: Sandy Alcantara (Miami), David Bednar (Pittsburgh), Corbin Burnes (Milwaukee), Luis Castillo (Cincinnati), Edwin Diaz (N.Y. Mets), Max Fried (Atlanta), Tony Gonsolin (L.A. Dodgers), Josh Hader (Milwaukee), Ryan Helsley (St. Louis), Clayton Kershaw (L.A. Dodgers), Joe Mantiply (Arizona), Joe Musgrove (San Diego)

*Harper is injured and will be replaced on the NL roster.

–Field Level Media