Skip to main content

International Team adds five first-timers to Presidents Cup roster

Jul 31, 2022; Detroit, Michigan, USA; Taylor Pendrith places his ball on the green on the par 4 first hole during the final round of the Rocket Mortgage Classic golf tournament. Mandatory Credit: Raj Mehta-USA TODAY Sports
Credit: Raj Mehta-USA TODAY Sports

Five Presidents Cup rookies are among the six players chosen by captain Trevor Immelman to represent the International Team at the competition later this month at Quail Hollow Club in Charlotte, N.C.

Immelman announced his captain’s picks Tuesday. They are: South Africa’s Christiaan Bezuidenhout, Cam Davis of Australia, South Korea’s Si Woo Kim and K.H. Lee, Sebastian Munoz of Colombia and Taylor Pendrith of Canada.

Of that group, only Kim has Presidents Cup experience, competing with the 2017 team at Liberty National in Jersey City, N.J.

Immelman had a limited player pool to choose from due to defections to the LIV Golf Series, which disqualified them from Presidents Cup play. The latest international players to join LIV were Cameron Smith of Australia, who won The Open Championship in July, and Joaquin Niemann of Chile.

The captain’s picks will join qualifiers Adam Scott of Australia, Corey Conners of Canada, Hideki Matsuyama of Japan, Sungjae Im and Tom Kim of South Korea, and Mito Pereira of Chile.

The Presidents Cup pits an international field against a team of Americans in a biennial competition that began in 1994. The International Team has won just once — in 1998 in Melbourne, Australia. The teams tied in 2003.

Team USA is captained by Davis Love III, who is scheduled to announce his picks on Wednesday.

Americans already qualified for the Aug. 20-25 event are Patrick Cantlay, Sam Burns, Justin Thomas, Scottie Scheffler, Xander Schauffele and Tony Finau.

Thomas won the 2022 PGA Championship and Scheffler won the Masters.

–Field Level Media