Skip to main content

Grand slams adopt 10-point tiebreaks for final sets

Jul 14, 2019; London, United Kingdom; Novak Djokovic (SRB) celebrates after match point against Roger Federer (SUI) during the mens final match on day 13 at the All England Lawn and Croquet Club. Mandatory Credit: Susan Mullane-USA TODAY Sports
Credit: Susan Mullane-USA TODAY Sports

All four grand slam events in men’s and women’s tennis have agreed to use a 10-point tiebreak for deciding sets.

That means no more marathon matches such as Novak Djokovic’s 7-6 (5), 1-6, 7-6 (4), 4-6, 13-12 (3) victory over Roger Federer in the 2019 Wimbledon final, or John Isner’s dramatic 70-68 fifth-set battle with Nicolas Mahut in 2010 at Wimbledon.

Moving forward, all matches going five sets for men (or three sets for women) will be decided by a sudden-death, first-player-to-10 tiebreak after it gets to 6-6.

The same system has been in place at the Australian Open since 2019.

The unified approach announced Wednesday was described as a “trial” for the next 12 months. It will debut at the French Open in May.

–Field Level Media