Cody Bellinger wowed us all on on Tuesday night with a spectacular catch, and he was at it again on Wednesday afternoon as the Los Angeles Dodgers hosted the Milwaukee Brewers in the fifth game of the NLCS.
Sliding on a hard-hit ball into shallow center field, Bellinger appeared to get the webbing of his glove under the ball. It was ruled a hit on the field, and the Dodgers asked for a review. The close-up view of the play sure seemed to show he caught it, and that the ball never hit the ground.
However, the call on the field was upheld upon review, sparking strong reactions on Twitter.
That’s a catch. Never hit the grass. Bellinger’s glove was under it the whole time. That’s a bad call by the umps.
— Katie Tellez (@katiedtellez) October 17, 2018
The ball bounced inside the glove like Kemp’s catch for the Astros yesterday. The difference was, Bellinger was ruled on the field to have trapped it. #Dodgers
— Dinn Mann (@mooseoutfront) October 17, 2018
— River Cat Tales #ClawsUp (@R_CatTales) October 17, 2018
The MLB catch rule is as vague and stupid as the NFL
Bellinger caught that ball
— Mark Davis (@MarkDavisRaider) October 17, 2018
That was stupid!!! Bellinger caught it
— Love Will Remember (@SmileyPiex) October 17, 2018
— Miguel Lozada (@Miguel_Gator) October 17, 2018