Diesel Decade Plus Final – Greatest NBA Championship Teams Tournament

Here we are. On to the second round of Sportsnaut’s Greatest NBA Championship Teams Tournament. Only eight teams remain and we are currently at the regional final, or in NCAA Tournament terms, “The Elite Eight.”


The first round of the Diesel Decade Plus Region was interesting and had one close finish, which correlated with the 2013-2014 NBA Finals. In the end, the 2006-2007 San Antonio Spurs defeated the 2012-2013 Miami Heat by a final vote tally of 52-48 percent. It’s safe to say the voters got that right, as a younger Spurs team probably would have taken out the Heat last June.

In a vote that wasn’t nearly as close, the 1999-2000 Los Angeles Lakers defeated the 2007-2008 Boston Celtics. While that Boston team did defeat the Kobe Bryant-led Lakers, it’s safe to say that a group led by Shaq, Kobe and Glen Rice would have put up more of a fight. To me, that matchup was a toss-up.

In any event, here were are. With two teams battling for the Diesal Decade Plus Region championship and a spot in the Final Four of the Sportsnaut Greatest NBA Championship Teams Tournament.

Here are the results of the two regions currently in voting in the second round.

Old School Region between the 1964-1965 Boston Celtics and 1972-1973 New York Knicks.

Showtime 80′s Region between the 1986-1987 Los Angeles Lakers and 1985-1986 Boston Celtics.

Heir 90’s Region between the The 1995-1996 Chicago Bulls  and the 1994-1995 Houston Rockets.

Make sure your votes count. A poll will be provided below.

Diesal Decade Plus Region Final – The 1999-2000 Los Angeles Lakers vs the 2006-2007 San Antonio Spurs

Facts 1999-2000 NBA Champion: Lakers 2006-2007 NBA Champion: Spurs
Record: 67-15 58-24
Coach: Phil Jackson Gregg Popovich
Center: Shaquille O’Neal Tim Duncan
Power Forward: A.C. Green Fabricio Oberto
Small Forward: Glen Rice Bruce Bowen
Shooting Guard: Kobe Bryant Manu Ginobili
Point Guard: Ron Harper Tony Parker
Key Bench Players Robert Horry, Derek Fisher, Brian Shaw, Michael Finley, Brent Barry, James White,
Rick Fox and Tyronn Lue Francisco Elson and Beno Udrih


[polldaddy poll=8133407]